Asset Liability Management

Asset liability management (ALM), the management of assets with a view to the liabilities, is one of the key responsibilities of an institutional investor. This issue is relevant not only for pension plans, pension funds and contractual trust arrangements, but also for foundations, banks, insurance companies and family offices.

Based on your specific liability structure, we derive an optimal investment policy consisting of a strategic asset allocation tailored to your risk management situation. Upon client request, we implement this investment policy and then continue to support you with regular updates, advising you on adhoc issues as they occur.

If required, we derive an index for your liabilities as a customized benchmark, which illustrates the economic development of your liabilities and serves as a reference for the performance of your investment.

Within our integrated ALM approach, we can perform robust portfolio optimization, as well as scenario simulations using dynamic risk management strategies that flexibly respond to market developments.

The integrated analysis of assets and liabilities gives our clients a higher transparency on the potential impact of their investment strategy on their individual economical, regulatory and accounting goals. A decision-making process based on an unbiased view also helps with communication – both with internal and external supervisory boards.

We have many years of experience with numerous investors from various industries and their specific regulatory environments (such as VAG, Basel III, Solvency II), as well as their different accounting standards (for example HGB, IFRS, US-GAAP).

Our integrated and dynamic ALM approach allows for a forward-looking simulation of a wide range of investment and risk management strategies with regards to your economic, regulatory and/or accounting objectives.

This analysis can be done both at the aggregate or collective basis as well as the level of individual investors or plan participants.

Our services

  • (Integrated) ALM study

  • Liability matching / liability benchmarks

  • DC investment / glide path advisory

Your benefits

  • Our powerful ALM platform provides you with a realistic assessment of your overall investment situation.

  • Improved transparency on the possible effects of an investment strategy on the likelihood of meeting your individual economic, regulatory or accounting objectives.

  • You benefit from many years of experience with numerous investors from various industries and their specific regulatory framework.

  • We have experience on a wide range of questions in the areas of defined benefits and defined contribution – both in a national and international context.

Asset Liability Management

Asset-Liability-Management, das heißt die wechselseitige Abstimmung der Kapitalanlagen (Assets) auf die Verpflichtungen (Liabilities), gehört zu den zentralen Aufgaben institutioneller Anleger. Diese Fragestellung betrifft neben Versorgungswerken, Pensionskassen und CTAs auch Stiftungen, Banken, Versicherungen und Family Offices.

Ausgehend von Ihrer spezifischen Verbindlichkeitsstruktur leiten wir für Sie eine optimale Kapitalanlagepolitik bestehend aus der strategischen Asset Allokation und der auf Ihre Situation abgestimmten Risikosteuerung ab. Auf Kundenwunsch implementieren wir diese Anlagepolitik und begleiten Sie fortlaufend mit regelmäßigen Aktualisierungen und beraten Sie bei den adhoc auftretenden Fragestellungen.

Darüber hinaus ermitteln wir bei Bedarf für Ihre Verpflichtungen einen Liability-Index, der als individuelle Benchmark die ökonomische Entwicklung der Verpflichtungen aufzeigt und als Referenz für die Performance der Kapitalanlage dient.

Unser integrierter ALM Ansatz ermöglicht neben robuster Portfolio-Optimierung auch Szenario-Simulationen unter Anwendung dynamischer Risikosteuerungsstrategien, die flexibel auf Marktentwicklungen reagieren.

Weitere Vorteile der integrierten Analysen der Aktiv- und Passivseite ergeben sich für unsere Kunden aus der verbesserten Transparenz über mögliche Auswirkungen der Anlagestrategie auf Ihre individuellen ökonomischen, regulatorischen oder buchhalterischen Ziele. Ein so objektivierter Entscheidungsprozess ist zudem gegenüber internen Gremien oder externen Aufsichtsgremien gut kommunizierbar.

Wir verfügen über langjährige Erfahrungen mit zahlreichen Investoren aus verschiedenen Branchen und deren spezifischen regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen (wie VAG, Basel III, Solvency II) sowie deren unterschiedlichen Rechnungslegungsvorschriften (wie z.B. HGB, IFRS, US-GAAP).

Unser integrierter und dynamischer ALM Ansatz erlaubt die zukunftsgerichtete Simulation einer Vielzahl von Anlage- und Risikomanagementstrategien im Hinblick auf Ihre ökonomischen, regulatorischen und/oder buchhalterischen Ziele.

Diese Planung und Ableitung kann sowohl auf aggregierter bzw. kollektiver Basis, als auch auf Ebene einzelner Anleger vorgenommen werden.

Unser Serviceangebot

  • (integrierte) ALM Studie
  • Liability Matching / Benchmarks
  • DC Investment / Glide Path Advisory

Ihre Vorteile

  • Unsere leistungsstarke ALM Plattform liefert Ihnen realistische Einschätzungen der Gesamtsituation
  • Verbesserte Transparenz über mögliche Auswirkungen der Anlagestrategie auf Ihre individuellen ökonomischen, regulatorischen oder buchhalterischen Ziele
  • Sie profitieren von langjähriger Erfahrungen mit zahlreichen Investoren aus verschiedenen Branchen und deren spezifischen regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen
  • Wir bieten Ihnen Erfahrung zu einem breiten Spektrum an Fragestellungen aus den Bereichen Defined Benefit und Defined Contribution auch im internationalen Kontext